goingplaceslivinglife

Travel, Food, and Slices of Life

Why Live Here?

2 Comments

Why do people live where they do? I don’t mean why am I moving to Oregon, but instead, why did ANYONE move to ANYPLACE? And what makes someone believe “THIS is the spot”?

I’ve thought often about the early travelers on this westward trek. Across the plains from MissouriDSCF5495 through the rugged RockiesDSC_0085 and then across the high desert.DSC_0001

As we started driving on back roads in eastern Oregon we reached the town of Vale. It’s a small town, with about 1200 people. We were driving through on U.S. Route 20 when we noticed historic murals on many of the buildings and circled back to take photos. It was a good time to stop for lunch so we went into a local place for some pulled pork barbecue and spoke to a local realtor and the county judge who had been peacefully enjoying their lunch until I started asking questions. DSC_0040

They were proud to tell me that the main street in Vale is the same route as the Oregon Trail. Immediately I understood how the town was established. It was the first area after crossing the high desert of Utah and Idaho where fresh water was available. There also were warm springs for nice baths and clothes washing. I can imagine more than one woman stamped her foot and said “Good enough! We’re staying here!”DSC_0045

Do you know why your family originally settled where they live?

Author: GoingPlaces Can-Do Zero Waste

I moved to McMinnville a few years ago and was impressed with its friendliness and the beauty of the surrounding countryside. I write several blogs. GoingPlacesLivingLife is my personal blog related to travel, food and just general thoughts. Can-Do Real Food tells about my business processing local produce from small farms and preserving it by canning and dehydrating. The concept of Zero Waste appeals to me because we can truly reduce what gets tossed into the landfill with very small changes in our lifestyle. Join us.

2 thoughts on “Why Live Here?

  1. I suspect mine would be a long story to answer your question. I’ll save it for when we meet! 😀

Tell Me What You Think

