goingplaceslivinglife

Travel, Food, and Slices of Life

Food for Health

4 Comments

A few years ago at my annual health check-up my doctor reviewed the blood pressure the nurse had taken, listened to my heart and lungs, thumped my reflex points and proclaimed me in good health. Cursory to say the least. I nudged him, as I have a tendency in all things, and asked him about my weight. His answer was less than helpful, “you know what you need to do.”

When  I asked him for help, he offered a pill. pill head

In the past few weeks I have heard two news stories that make me think the medical community just may be turning a corner about talking about eating to their patients.  Few, like my doctor, will do it. He said patients become offended and he just didn’t need that additional outrage in his life.  His attitude was the information is out there and people can learn what they need to do to eat healthier.

But it’s hard, even for someone like me who DOES know what I need to do. Simply, I like to taste and I have not developed any bad habit of purging.  My mom could make a candy bar last a week. I can’t. Five minutes is good for me. So I make a effort not to have any candy bars enter my life.farmacy

So when I heard that New York City doctors are now allowed to prescribe healthy food I was thrilled. Participating patients can now use Health Bucks to purchase at local farm markets. New York City has an amazing farmers market program with markets scattered throughout all boroughs, making fresh healthy food available everywhere.  farmacy

The second story was about Tulane medical students in New Orleans assigned to a rotation in the Johnson and Wales Culinary School in Providence, Rhode Island.  There, fourth year medical students work along side culinary students to learn how to prepare healthy food.FARMACY_SHOW___LOGO

Learning to use healthy food as a way to change health is a personal step in farmacy vs pharmacy. So if the doctor prescribes a pill, ask if there is a dietary change that you can make that can help reverse the problem! And if your physician doesn’t know, ask her or him why not. Help the movement gain momentum by demanding that kind of healthcare!

Author: GoingPlaces Can-Do Zero Waste

I moved to McMinnville a few years ago and was impressed with its friendliness and the beauty of the surrounding countryside. I write several blogs. GoingPlacesLivingLife is my personal blog related to travel, food and just general thoughts. Can-Do Real Food tells about my business processing local produce from small farms and preserving it by canning and dehydrating. The concept of Zero Waste appeals to me because we can truly reduce what gets tossed into the landfill with very small changes in our lifestyle. Join us.

4 thoughts on “Food for Health

  1. You go, girl! You’re such a whirlwind for healthy changes. If you can’t make it happen, no one can! 😉

  2. I am impressed and happy to see such changes. I know that my diet is vastly different than it was even a year ago. I ate a salad with kale in it this Friday. That is not really thinkable two or three years ago.

Tell Me What You Think

