goingplaceslivinglife

Travel, Food, and Slices of Life

Some Places Just Make it Easier

8 Comments

Graham went to a professional seminar this past week and I needed to pick him up from the Portland Airport around 9p.m. on Wednesday.  I had no idea about traffic.

I knew on our other trips to and through Portland it seemed that a bit more than one hour would be a safe estimate for driving from our new home to the airport, but I reminded myself that Portland is a large city and you just never know, so I left with plenty of time. And of course Graham’s plane ended up being a bit late so it really didn’t matter anyway.

Well, it took me about an hour to get there. No traffic. Speed limit driving all the way in, even within the city where the highways go off and merge on hither and thither and I realize in time I will know it well and not have to depend on my GPS.portland at night

When I entered the ramp for the short term parking there was an electronic sign that said there were so many spaces available on level 4 and so many more spaces available on level 6. Wow.

On level 4, as I drove down the lane, there was an electronic sign that told me how many vacant spaces each row had, 11 here, 9 there, 12 here. As I drove down a row I noticed over each space was a light. Red over a parked car. Green over an empty space.airport Octb

WOW.

Some places just make it easier.

Author: GoingPlaces Can-Do Zero Waste

I moved to McMinnville a few years ago and was impressed with its friendliness and the beauty of the surrounding countryside. I write several blogs. GoingPlacesLivingLife is my personal blog related to travel, food and just general thoughts. Can-Do Real Food tells about my business processing local produce from small farms and preserving it by canning and dehydrating. The concept of Zero Waste appeals to me because we can truly reduce what gets tossed into the landfill with very small changes in our lifestyle. Join us.

8 thoughts on “Some Places Just Make it Easier

  1. Wow, that is very nice – indeed. What a great idea. Whenever we fly, we end up driving up and down the parking garage – twisting our necks – looking for a parking space.

    Go Oregon 😉

  2. It occurred to me that I had not flown out of a major airport where I parked my car in years an years now, so do not really know if this technology has been put into place in other cities.

  3. Yep, and just think of how much gas is saved in the aggregate from not having to cruise around searching for an empty space. Keep Oregon weird (and green)!!!

Tell Me What You Think

