goingplaceslivinglife

Travel, Food, and Slices of Life

A Small Bump in the Road

16 Comments

Sometimes the journeys that we take—the places we go—are not very far. And if we pay attention, even if they are doozies, we learn a lot.

On Friday I noticed my right eye was “leaking.” I wondered if I had an eye infection and made a note to call for an eye appointment on Monday.

On Saturday the water, which we have filtered to remove the chlorine and other chemicals, tasted horrible.  Everyone else said it was okay.

On Sunday it felt like I could not open my mouth right. Yet when I pushed it, it seemed to be open widely and normally. Weird. I noticed there was a little minor annoyance, not pain exactly, but you know the level when you feel something you usually don’t feel, in my jaw on the right side. I figured I better make a dentist appointment.

This morning when I woke up and looked in the mirror it was pretty startling. No, I didn’t have luscious long blonde hair. What showed up was a face that looked like it had had a stroke.

Not a bad one, but the right side of my mouth was drooping a bit. And when I smiled, that side did not go up. (Too bad Halloween isn’t today…..I could work this I think.)  bells-palsy-symptoms

As I took my morning meds I dribbled the water in the best Novocaine-induced fashion, but in reality my mouth was not numb. But obviously the muscles were not working right.

Graham looked at me and pronounced his diagnosis based on someone he knew years ago. Bell’s Palsy.

Yikes! So I went to the Internet and read what it was, running through the symptoms:

Symptoms of Bell’s palsy include:

  • Sudden weakness or paralysis on one side of your face that causes it to droop. This is the main symptom. It may make it hard for you to close your eye on that side of your face. Check!
  • Drooling. Check!
  • Eye problems, such as excessive tearing or a dry eye. Check!
  • Loss of ability to taste. Check!
  • Pain in or behind your ear. Well, now that you mention it, check!
  • Numbness in the affected side of your face. Not numb..phew!
  • Increased sensitivity to sound. Nope, thank goodness.

The cause is some virus, not entirely identified yet.

So, armed with this info, I called my doctor’s office and they had me come in during their lunch hour. The doc ordered some steroids to help reduce the inflammation quickly and some anti-viral to knock down the bug. She heartedly endorsed the discussion I had had earlier with my accupuncturist and herbalist to put me on an herbal concoction as well.

So, the important questions were next-how long was this going to take to get me better and since it was caused by a virus would it haunt me during my life?

Her answer was important and this is why I am sharing my aches and pains with you, not to just get sympathy and hugs. The important message is because I acted on it so quickly not only should it get controlled quickly (2-4 weeks) but it most likely will never bother me again.

People who develop Bell’s Palsy and do not get attention for it very quickly may have it for life.

So, pay attention to your body. When something happens significantly different from your normal aging aches and pains, GET MEDICAL HELP!!!

Oh, one last word…..I am thankful I am not a professional musician. My embouchure would be affected big time!

Author: GoingPlaces Can-Do Zero Waste

I moved to McMinnville a few years ago and was impressed with its friendliness and the beauty of the surrounding countryside. I write several blogs. GoingPlacesLivingLife is my personal blog related to travel, food and just general thoughts. Can-Do Real Food tells about my business processing local produce from small farms and preserving it by canning and dehydrating. The concept of Zero Waste appeals to me because we can truly reduce what gets tossed into the landfill with very small changes in our lifestyle. Join us.

16 thoughts on “A Small Bump in the Road

  1. I’ve been down with a horrific cold, but too sick to go to the doctor! 😀 Hoping your thing goes quickly and permanently.

    • Feel better soon! I am moving in the right direction. Between the steroid, the anti-viral med, the herbal concoction and the acupuncture we will knock this down in good order!!

  2. Good thing you don’t play flute.

    So….

    You are going to an acupuncturist and herbalist……

  3. Yikes! I knew someone at Magyar many years ago (25+) who contracted Bell’s Palsy. (Is it contracted?) He resembled a stroke victim for awhile, but six-months later you would never have known he had that disease as there were no remaining symptoms. Thank God for your and Graham’s attentiveness, and your willingness to seek immediate medical attention! (And, isn’t the Internet a wondrous addition to our lives?) Glad you are on the mend. Please stick to the prescribed medical regimen – holistic approaches should be in addition to, and not in place of, standard medical treatments. Will keep you in my thoughts & prayers – liz

    Elizabeth (LIZ) Hance

    Date: Mon, 2 Dec 2013 23:51:35 +0000 To: liz1050@hotmail.com

    • Yes, will attack this on all fronts! Some people have the symptoms only a few days and it disappears without treatment but I prefer a more active role.

  4. I appreciate the update and the info…glad you – and G – ‘re taking good care of you.
    Feel better!
    And, of course-
    Eat good food!

    • Always….today turkey soup from the carcass with some veggie leftovers thrown in and matza balls, not quite the right holiday food, but oh so good.

  5. So glad you caught it early. Take care of yourselves. Miss you!

    • I keep hearing from people who knew someone who had it and it went away within a few weeks…so my goal is to join their ranks! As for missing me…I am not very far thanks to the Internet!! HUGS

  6. My husband’s Bell’s Palsy was cured by a chiropractor. Go figure.

    • Everything I’ve read says it just goes away by itself in some patients. The doc I saw said that by working on my diet the way I am, getting additional help with acupuncture and herbs will add to the weapons and this will be knocked down. Also making turkey soup..close cousin to Jewish Penicillin. LOL

      • Yes, it goes away. Thank heavens.
        Glad you’re okay, otherwise.

        • Once again, the ONLY thing we can control is our own attitude. I am thankful if my body is going to have a rebellion that it is small and can work through. Now, if I can just take a drink without the dribbles! LOL

  7. Yikes. Yes to paying attention and acting fast. I’m battling a virus too. They’re inscrutable.

Tell Me What You Think

