goingplaceslivinglife

Travel, Food, and Slices of Life

Not a Cleaning Diva

11 Comments

My mom had us clean house every Friday afternoon. No exceptions. No time off for early cleaning permitted. The house MUST be clean for Shabbat. can;t play clean

Before they left for college, my older sisters and I generally divided up the chores the same way weekly. I dusted (which meant EVERYTHING came off every shelf and we had a LOT of books and things we collected on all our travels) and cleaned the two bathrooms. One sister vacuumed the upstairs, the other vacuumed the downstairs. I don’t remember us having kitchen cleaning chores….probably because Mom had us clean it every day.

My sisters got into the cleaning habit. I didn’t. Oh, I keep my house clean enough, picked up enough. No one is going to get ill joining us for dinner or anything. But pristine?  Eat off the floor? Forget about that!

2014-07-17 11.02.13So, for some reason this morning, I decided to clean the refrigerator. Got the music going (if I can complete the job in one CD I win.) First the freezer. Threw out some ice-encrusted freezer burned somethings. Started a huge pot of chicken pieces simmering to make stock. Actually discovered some mostly eaten homemade chocolate ice cream, too old to keep. If nothing else made me sad at the waste, that did.

The frig itself got some order overhaul as well. Salad dressings are now together. Beverages ditto. Produce in the drawers and not just indiscriminately tossed on the other shelves. 2014-07-17 11.01.54

My sisters better come visit RIGHT NOW because the frig won’t stay looking like this after a few hours!

 

Author: GoingPlaces Can-Do Zero Waste

I moved to McMinnville a few years ago and was impressed with its friendliness and the beauty of the surrounding countryside. I write several blogs. GoingPlacesLivingLife is my personal blog related to travel, food and just general thoughts. Can-Do Real Food tells about my business processing local produce from small farms and preserving it by canning and dehydrating. The concept of Zero Waste appeals to me because we can truly reduce what gets tossed into the landfill with very small changes in our lifestyle. Join us.

11 thoughts on “Not a Cleaning Diva

  1. If you have some free time now, I would love to have you help me clean our small hovel. Until then I have hired a cleaning lady to help me with the tile floors, worth every Kuna!

  2. I wondered about that Pepsi in there….. hahaha 😀 When I was told graphic details about the dust mites during my allergy testing, I figured it was time for a really thorough ceiling to floor scrub that took me four days. It’s taken me at least that long to recover…. You should have come out because the place will never sparkle like that again. Then again, I turned into a troll so the company might have been less than pleasant.

    • All we can do is try to maintain it…hhahahahaha/ Tomorrow I plan on attacking the living/dining room. The *&%# cat has contributed incentive by producing places to clean up (tactfully I did not provide the details) so furniture will be moved, area rug moved to deck outdoors for vacuuming both sides etc etc etc

  3. Struck a familiar cord. My older sister & my younger sister got infected with that Eastern-European ‘cleaning bug.’ (You would be comfortable eating off both their floors.) Not me. Always had better things to do, and although I do ‘tidy’ and swish toilet bowls on an ‘as-needed’ basis, I could never make cleaning house a scheduled necessary activity. Fortunately for me, Jim & I agreed 15-years ago that we can afford to make our house-cleaning someone else’s ‘rice-bowl’ and hire the work out. We still do that even if it means some sacrifices (fewer new clothes, fewer meals out). But it’s too late to turn back – by now, I’ve lost any taste or talent for house-cleaning. In fact, when my younger sister visited last summer and needed to vacuum up something she had spilled, I had to first find the vacuum (no idea where it was stored), and then admit that I didn’t know how to operate it. Fridge looks great – thanks for sharing the photo! – me

    Elizabeth (LIZ) Hance

    Date: Thu, 17 Jul 2014 18:28:36 +0000 To: liz1050@hotmail.com

    • I thought of you as I was planning the writing but decided I need not share your childhood cleaning experiences. Mine were bad enough!

  4. It takes a lot of guts to take a photo of your refrigerator – and publish it. lol

    Kudos for the photo-worthy refrigerator 🙂

    Mine?

    Never 😉

    • I’m sure I will hear comments about some of the foods in there…..my husband still wants his diet caffeine free cola. No comment here.

      • My husband is discovering the world of root beer lately. He’s hooked and won’t admit it. I don’t drink soft drinks anymore. My love is Goya nectars. I buy them by the case. Pure heaven…

        • I so rarely drink any pop now but when I do it is the small locally brewed stuff with ginger ale my favorite.

          • “Pop”?

            Amazing the different words for the same drink. lol

            I was going to use the word “soda” only because the South is starting to integrate into my vocabulary.

            Ugh.

Tell Me What You Think

