goingplaceslivinglife

Travel, Food, and Slices of Life

Economic Patriotism

7 Comments

I heard the term “economic patriotism” on NPR a couple of days ago.  The discussion was about how the term was used politically over time but it did not seem to come down to the “man on the street” level.  I can bring it there I think and I also think you can live with it.buy Locala

We are climbing out of the worst economic recession since the Great Depression. Some areas of the country are still feeling pain. Some never really get to fly in good times so their “normal” is lower than other areas’ “good”. Regardless, if your area has some sense of economic development, you perhaps are seeing more signs of business activity, more job openings, more people enjoying going out to the movies, to restaurants and similar optional opportunities for spending.

Whatever your political leanings, you can help the economy in your area become more robust. Each time we shop anywhere we are throwing money into the vast world of business. When you go to the grocery store, for example, and buy your week’s worth of groceries, whether you spend $20 or $200, you are contributing to the world of business.  If you shop at a national or regional chain, like Kroger (some affiliates are Fred Meyer here in Oregon, Kings Sooper in Colorado and Ralph’s in California) or Wal-Mart, very little of  the money you spend there stays in the community. If you shop at a locally owned grocery store (IGA or even one not affiliated with that network) then more of your money stays right in the community. If you shop at your local farmers’ market and buy directly from local food producers, ALL your money stays in the community.shoplocala

That works for other goods and services also. Today I had to go downtown and used the one trip-many errands practice to pick up shampoo in the small local grocery store that has healthy products and also stopped in at the local office supply store for copy paper. I thought afterwards about the price I paid for that paper instead of saving about 50 cents by driving about 4 more miles to Staples. I probably paid a little bit  more than the cost of the gas (in my Prius anyway) but I knew I was saving time. I also was putting money into a locally owned business, a better option for the local economy than the national office supply store chain.

This is economic patriotism. This spending an extra 50 cents to help the local economy can add up to a HUGE difference if each of us would do it.shop mom and pop

When I was in West Virginia and involved with The Wild Ramp Market in Huntington we once figured out in a given week the average expenditure in the market was $15. We also estimated that if 10% of the town’s population would spend that average $15 a week in the market, the return to the farmers would be over a million dollars a year. While The Wild Ramp Market is extremely proud that in the two years of its operation over $400,000 has been given back to local producers, the difference of what has been and what could be is amazing.

It means YOU need to step up. You need to show you want this nation to be healthy. Your buying patterns make a difference. Are you willing to be considered a patriot?  Can you put economic patriotism into practice?shoplocal

Can you switch from consumerism as dictated by advertisements on the television and in magazines to locating and supporting locally made goods. In your area there are people who are passionate about producing high quality goods that would make superb useful items in your home or as gifts. There can be great pride in knowing your purchase can make a huge difference in someone’s economic health.

I’m not talking charity. I’m not talking giving money without getting something of value. I’m talking about buying American made goods. I’m talking about buying locally. Can you be a patriot?

 

 

Author: GoingPlaces Can-Do Zero Waste

I moved to McMinnville a few years ago and was impressed with its friendliness and the beauty of the surrounding countryside. I write several blogs. GoingPlacesLivingLife is my personal blog related to travel, food and just general thoughts. Can-Do Real Food tells about my business processing local produce from small farms and preserving it by canning and dehydrating. The concept of Zero Waste appeals to me because we can truly reduce what gets tossed into the landfill with very small changes in our lifestyle. Join us.

7 thoughts on “Economic Patriotism

  1. When I buy my freshly picked fruits and vegetables from our green market, I am dealing directly with the grower. I usually buy from the same local lady and will always find something extra in my bag when I return home.

    • People who have never shopped in a local farmers’ market have no idea how fun it can be.,..a sense of carnival and certainly a better connection to the reality of where your food originates.

  2. What truly annoys me is that I had to resort to shopping at WalMart the other day -first time in many years- because they’ve driven so many local shops out of business and there are some things that simply can’t be found locally. But I don’t think my one purchase in roughly five years is going to make or break them. I’m sure you’re aware how limited choices can be out here in the boonies, but I see that as a good thing. Why be tempted to buy stuff made in China that will likely end up in the landfill in less than a year.

    • You raise a good point. Not everyone has options to shop locally. And I’m not saying that all shopping should or could be local. Just that people (and I know you do) need to consider that just because the store downtown is a bit more expensive doesn’t mean they should not be patronized. Shopping for the lowest price can also mean shopping for the cheapest product–in quality.

  3. Our local markets, who tout fresh veggies, are buying them from a chain grocery store, and charging the customer more for the obvious scam.

    In the meantime, our city is raising property taxes, etc, forcing us all to shop at Walmart.

    Locals charge too much and give too little. Eating out is no longer an option, the food is terrible.

    Support local business? Sorry, we can’t afford getting ripped off in order to look patriotic anymore.

    • There seems to be something missing in your area…..some sense of honesty, integrity? Seems ironic since the area is so full of the military.

Tell Me What You Think

