goingplaceslivinglife

Travel, Food, and Slices of Life

Hurry Up and Wait

4 Comments

Remember how time moved differently when you were a child? The eager anticipation for a birthday, Christmas, a special trip or some event made time draaaaaggggg so slowly that it seemed it would never come.

Image

And as you became older, time seemed to speed up.  Right? All of a sudden it is back to school and Christmas is around the corner. And tomorrow we will be here again but it will be 2014 instead. Or so it seems.

Right now time is dragging again for me. We anticipated leaving Huntington this past Friday and now it will be next Saturday. The moving company had trouble finding a truck going the right way with the right amount of space, and so, we wait. Image

0821_map

Map is not quite right. Oregon is much further north on the Left Coast…maybe that is why the truck was delayed…..

I have started making a joke that there is one truck that drives from east to west, and then returns west to east, and they didn’t have room for us last week. So, after they return to the east coast this week, they will stop here on Friday. Only a joke people, there are more than one truck. Maybe two or three. 🙂

This move has been a series of “hurry up and wait.” First we decluttered the house over last winter in order to make it look more roomy for prospective buyers. Then we put it on the market and had to wait for that buyer who saw our house as theirs…and understand that we needed to let go of the emotional attachment to that structure. Then we had to wait…and wait…and wait…for the closing. And now, the moving truck.

ImageThis past birthday I turned 59 and mentioned to my youngest that I had perhaps fifteen years left. He immediately scolded me for saying I was dying but I pointed out no, I was merely recognizing that my productive years with good energy and adequate health was getting limited. I have a lot I still want to do so I better get going and use my time wisely.

Yes, we have rocking chairs for the porch…..and we occasionally sit there with glasses of wine at the end of the day reviewing what has been and what will be. That is a nice slow down.  Can’t wait to position them on my new porch and enjoy that view.

Author: GoingPlaces Can-Do Zero Waste

I moved to McMinnville a few years ago and was impressed with its friendliness and the beauty of the surrounding countryside. I write several blogs. GoingPlacesLivingLife is my personal blog related to travel, food and just general thoughts. Can-Do Real Food tells about my business processing local produce from small farms and preserving it by canning and dehydrating. The concept of Zero Waste appeals to me because we can truly reduce what gets tossed into the landfill with very small changes in our lifestyle. Join us.

4 thoughts on “Hurry Up and Wait

  1. Rest up!!!! That is what this waiting is all about…… Once all your things are packed up to go on the truck, everything will change…..as you will be in a fast and furious pace, driving across country, unpacking, settling in, and then going on adventures every chance you get!!!! so enjoy the “quiet”….it’s going to be busy soon enough! Can’t wait to see you and celebrate your arrival here in Oregon!

    • I have planned the cross country drive to visit a few friends and even stop at a national park. But we will put in long hours on the road until we get to the Oregon line. Then, instead of the Interstate, we are going to use the back roads, the US highways, to really explore the very eastern part of the state. I’m assuming we may never have another reason to get further east than Bend, so this is the chance. I found a place to stay with a hot spring at 102 degrees. I miss my hot tub so we are staying there! Then ll drive through the Painted Hills on our way to Sisters where we will meet and stay with our new landlords before the last few hours into Mac.

  2. Maybe the advertisement claiming two men and a truck is just that… two men and a single truck! LOL

    • LOL. Actually we used a “3 men and a truck” for our local move from the house into the storage unit and they were great! They expressed interest in the long distance move but never presented an estimate…perhaps the logistics was beyond their comfort zone. This long distance move arrangement is considerably different from what I experienced 6 years ago. The use of a moving broker that has arrangements with a number of long distance movers has removed the direct relationship between me and the company that actually will be moving me. I suppose from a business standpoint it works better for them, but it adds to a level of anxiety if this whole thing will come off smoothly.

Tell Me What You Think

