goingplaceslivinglife

Travel, Food, and Slices of Life

Turmoil

4 Comments

I’ve been very busy with a project and have not had time to write, but my mind has been whirling with trying to figure out something. How much of the turmoil I have been living through is related solely to the people involved OR is their lack of clear communication and unwillingness to respond to my efforts to clarify issues a sign of a greater problem throughout American society?poor_planning_on_your_part_mug

First of all, I have learned that before I accept a project I MUST get the expectations of the group wanting my help IN WRITING. Anything less and there is too much left to vagaries.

Secondly, I have learned that before I accept a project a timetable must be agreed upon by all. That way, if inaction by parties other than me cause a delay, I have a document, with their signature, to show they fell out of compliance with the agreement. inaction

Thirdly, I have learned that any time anyone keeps saying how much they appreciate my “passion” and my “energy” they are preparing to ask more of me that first discussed.

There are always consequences for not working together well, for not explaining fully, for not being willing to participate. The boom is about to fall. dominos

Author: GoingPlaces Can-Do Zero Waste

I moved to McMinnville a few years ago and was impressed with its friendliness and the beauty of the surrounding countryside. I write several blogs. GoingPlacesLivingLife is my personal blog related to travel, food and just general thoughts. Can-Do Real Food tells about my business processing local produce from small farms and preserving it by canning and dehydrating. The concept of Zero Waste appeals to me because we can truly reduce what gets tossed into the landfill with very small changes in our lifestyle. Join us.

4 thoughts on “Turmoil

  1. I fell i;s always best to face truth, And I like your new “here’s how i work” description.
    I’m sorry someone is taking your time and talents for granted. I know personally how committed you are to doing what you do well + accurately and on time.

    I can’t imagine why they don’t know better…
    Hope it all ends soon – one way or the other. I wouldn’t want to waste your resources!

  2. Well, the 30-day free trial is about to expire…..and we’re getting close, but still no cigar. And of course, it still has not made it to the printer, so if he needs adjustment, that will not be me doing it LOL The boom, as I said, is about to be lowered, and not by me. Karma

  3. Being taken for granted and burning bridges before ever crossing them – especially if your talents and skill set are rare and your work ethic is of the 19th century draft horse variety – seems to be a specialty of McMinnville, Oregon.

    On this point, I speak from bitter, personal experience. Like every other natural resource in this area, the people here love to make a great show of wasting them extravagantly in a perverse kind of conspicuous consumption. In their childish, magical thinking, they believe that such is their birthright because “the Lord will provide” – whether cutting down tracks of virgin, first growth forest or despoiling the good will of good people. Both are precious and becoming increasingly scarce and the day will come sooner, rather than later, that the consequences of their arrogance will be visited upon their heads.

    But that type of thinking takes wisdom and restraint and is virtually unknown in these Bible-thumping, conservative parts. Their attitude? “Suck it up, you whiners!” Uh huh. That is, until the piper has to be paid. Then we’ll see who’s the big crybaby.

Tell Me What You Think

